Contact UsSearch
Click for Search Instructions
Home > Learning Resources > Glossary

majority government

A majority government is one which is supported by a majority of members of the legislative assembly , all of whom are members of the same political party . This is in contrast with a coalition government where a parliamentary majority is composed of the members of two (and occasionally more than two) political parties, both of which have ministers in the government.  It can also be contrasted with a minority government where the governing party does not hold a majority of seats but is kept in office by the support of one or more parties or independent members who do not contribute ministers in the government.

While British Columbia has experienced only majority governments since 1953, there were coalition governments between 1941 and 1952 (Liberal and Conservative parties), and a minority government (Social Credit) from 1952 to 1953.
© 2003 Citizens' Assembly on Electoral ReformSite powered by levelCMSSite Map | Privacy Policy